HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Banned
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Total HK newbie here looking for informed opinions. I love my HK VP9, but have read and have been told it is a "cheap" HK and not a "to to war" handgun. For that I need to look at a HK45 or USP handgun. I went to a local shop that has HKs, and fondled their USPs, and frankly, the grip ain't working for me. At all. I have XXX sized hands, and the VP9 grip with its adjustable side panels just feels really great in my hand. But...I know the USP is a HK classic and was built around the 40SW round. Then I've read up on Vickers and Hackathorn's comments about the HK45, good bad and otherwise, so I'm kind of intrigued since I think it has adjustable grip panels. Do you HK experts have any opinions to offer a HK noob? I'd appreciate it.

It may sound paranoid, but the reason I bought an HK MR556 was I wanted a rifle I knew would not let me down in a real SHTF scenario. I respect HK's quality and would like to be able to have a HK handgun I could also rely on in that kind of a situation.

·
Registered
3,277 Posts
For whatever reason, right or wrong, when I imagine a SHTF type gun, it is a .45 and it is a USP. I do own HK45's and USP's. In a SHTF situation, either my USP Tactical or Expert is going into the drop leg. The cheese grater grip never crosses my mind.

·
Banned
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
For whatever reason, right or wrong, when I imagine a SHTF type gun, it is a .45 and it is a USP. I do own HK45's and USP's. In a SHTF situation, either my USP Tactical or Expert is going into the drop leg. The cheese grater grip never crosses my mind.
Thanks for your response, but, sorry, new guy here, would you elaborate a bit and explain that response?

·
Premium Member
4,004 Posts