HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to HKPRO. I just wanted to say I've been visiting this site for a couple months now, and you helped me decide on what gun to get. This is my first gun, I'm only 21 years old, so I'm probably going to be asking a lot of questions. So anyways, here are some pictures of my P30. Keep in mind, I didn't clean it yet

·
Registered
1,817 Posts
Looks great. I just picked up mine the other day as well & I am also picking up a P7 PSP next week :)

·
Registered
1,439 Posts
Welcome aboard. Nice Pics of your P30. Mine should be in by Wed. How much did you pay for yours.?

·
Registered
64 Posts
If you like you P30, gsrcivic1, (and that seems the case with your photo shoot), I would suggest moving to a major caliber (.45ACP) for your next handgun and purchase the HK45 since you feel so highly about the P30...

Now I would normally suggest you save for a high quality 1911 Government platform (you'll end up owning one before too long anyway), but I don't know how much you shoot, your background, etc. IMO, the Government is a true fighting handgun that requires a bit more training to wring the most out of its design. But once that happens, you'll understand why experienced shooters and many elite combat units prefer it over anything else out there -- and that's not bad for a design approaching 100 years of service.

Once you become proficient with the 1911 and can compare it to other designs you've fired, its qualities will become self-evident, just like the H&K does when compared to other polymer framed handguns. All the major platforms will get the job done, but some just do it a tad better, and to me that's important in any self-defense scenario I might encounter...

Good luck with your new P30. I certainly like mine...