HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts
A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just picked up my new MSG 91 love it however there is some ejection issues and seeing as I'm a newbie and never previously owned a 91 "clone" I could use some input.

The rifle cycles fine and shoots great however after picking up my first group of brass I found this........

This is what my brass looks like: note the burr on the base of the cases....

I stripped her down and cleaned the chamber and oiled the extractor but the problem still persisted on the second group. The brass typically exits forward 10 yards down range and to the right, but does on occasion exit 90 degrees right or slightly back. The rifle itself never jams but it looks like to me the case isn't clearing and the following round is ejecting the spent cartridge the rest of the way?
If I seat a case into the bolt "while stripped" by hand and simulate an extraction I can feel it hanging on the extractor and the burrs on the base of the cases line up with the corners of the extractor.

Having been unable to correct the issue with the basics after 20 rounds I had to quit. I'm guessing I have a faulty extractor? Do the HKPro's agree?

Having never owned a PTR or 91 before how much damage to the brass is typical under normal conditions? Does it interfere with hand loading?

your input is appreciated :) I may not reply until Oct 6 or 7 but will thank everyone in advance.

·
1,205 Posts
That is common with all HK .308 rifles. They throw the brass into the next county, and most of the time the brass hits the ejection port on the way out.

A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That is common with all HK .308 rifles. They throw the brass into the next county, and most of the time the brass hits the ejection port on the way out.
thanks

So hand loading is basically a waste of time as the brass will not be reusable?

·
Registered
886 Posts