HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Thought I would introduce myself. I'm pretty new to handguns and had a couple questions. I shot both the P220 (rented at the range) and my brother's USP45. Previously the only other gun I've shot was a Glock 9mm.

Anyway to my questions... What exactly is involved in ordering and using an FFL(?) like CDNN as opposed to just going to the nearest gun store and purchasing there. I had a chance to hold the HK45 and I think I'm set on ordering it this month... Also, is the HK45 a good first weapon to have or should I get a smaller caliber? I intend to use it at the range and home defense.

Thanks

·
Registered
851 Posts
Welcome! If you purchase from a local shop, you can build a repore with the staff/owner which can lead to future deals or possible special treatment. If you order from the Internet, you will need to locate a local shop that is willing to do an FFL transfer.

Depending on where you are located, some Internet dealers may not be willing to send a firearm to where you are (NY, CA, MA, etc). You will usually have to pay a fee for an FFL transfer, about $20 to $60, depending on where you are.

As for the HK45, reports are coming in to HKPro and most are positive. You have to be comfortable with the gun. Both in the grip and in shooting .45 ammo through it. .45 is great for home defense and target shooting as well. With a smaller caliber, you'll save a little on ammo purchases. Good luck with your decision.

·
Registered
239 Posts