HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new to HK, and I'm about to purchase a USP Compact for CC. I can't decide between the .40 or .45. Any feedback is appreciated.

·
Premium Member
1,704 Posts
What cal. do you currently carry? Have you shot a 40 and a 45? Are you law enforcement? It's all your choice. No one here can make that decision for you. We can voice what and why we like one over the other, but gun for gun the real only difference is only cal. TJ

·
Registered
851 Posts
+1 with TexasJim.

We'll have our opinions, but ultimately you are the one who will be buying and using this gun. If possible, try to find a local dealer where you would be able to handle both models. Best scenario would be if there is a local range that has HK's that you can try out.

With that said, I went with 9mm in the USP Compact. My personal taste is that .40 and .45 are too snappy in a short barrel pistol configuration for me to control and shoot accurately (small hands and build). I love my full size USP Tactical in .45.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, basically, I'm new to concealed carry. I'm not law enforcement, and I really like both calibers. My current gun (Bersa Thunder .380 is way underpowered in my personal opinion). I'm also just really wanting to upgrade to a higher quality firearm, and I really like everything about the HK USP Compact. I have not been able to find anyone that has a .45 in stock locally, but I have held the .40 and it feels great in my hand. While I've shot both calibers, I've not fired either one in the HK platform. I guess I'm going to check with a local range and see if I can rent both pistols to try them out. I'm not sure if anyone around here has those available for rent.

·
Registered
377 Posts
Well of course the best thing to do would be to shoot each of them and then make your decision.

As a defense round, both are adequate.