HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As stated in my thread title I'm new to HKs and any tips would be helpful. I am going to be purchasing a HK93 clone very soon as a 3 gun rifle/plinker. I have had HORRIBLE experience while in the service with ARs and will never go back to the platform in the direct gas system type. I have debated going piston but I don't think they have that system fully ironed out yet. I make my own competition bolt actions for long range competition and am a combat vet from Fallujah 06' where I did EOD security, Convoy security and did my main job (artillery) with G 2/11 in support of RCT 5. I love AKs but for what I want it to do currently I believe the HK93 platform will fit my needs better.

My questions:
Any mods that make huge improvements on this platform?
What base to use with red dot for partial co-witness?
I already purchased some MKE 93 mags, which other mags work well?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Merritt
SGT USMC vet.

·
Premium Member
1,737 Posts
Any mods that make huge improvements on this platform?
do some searching here.... there is a significant chance that if you buy a C93, you'll be putting a new barrel on it within a few hundred rounds.

What base to use with red dot for partial co-witness?
all of my mounts are too tall to co-witness, so no advice there.

I already purchased some MKE 93 mags, which other mags work well?
The main sources are H&K and MKE, both seem to work reasonably well.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.
If you are really going to shoot it a lot.... spend the extra and get a REAL H&K... not a clone.

·
Registered
66 Posts
There are some pretty good AR piston setups out there, but the better versions are very pricey. The best example of a gas piston setup is the Uber-AR, the HK416.

Although, the whole weapon is not available the the civilian market, there are a few uppers floating around but damn, they're high.

·
Registered