HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been researching pistols for some time now and the two brands I have come down to is HK and Sig Sauer.

I am new to the world of guns but have had a friend helping out, I am just wanting a wider pool of knowledge than just his, and from the posts that I have read this is a great place to go for HK knowledge.

This pistol is not for concealed carry. It is for the range and home protection.

The pistols are the Sig Sauer 226 (9mm, .357 Sig, .40S&W) and 220 (.45)

The pistols from HK is the USP in .40 or .45.

I am not entirely sure on what caliber I am going to go with, I am going to figure this out on Thursday when I go to the range and rent them.

Any input is greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
114 Posts
Those are all fine pistols but feel very different from each other. The Sig 226 has a large rounded grip shape and the USP fullsize models esp. the 45 are large and blocky. The Sig 220 feels nice as it is rounded but not as large as the 226.
Try out a few and see how you like the feel of each. All your choices will serve you well.
Try to shoot a P228 as well. It's one of the nicest feeling handguns I've ever shot

·
Registered
43 Posts
that goes for me too

Hi, im in your exact situation and need the answer to your exact qeustion ,the only difference is that i m sticked to the 9mm cal. since it's the most available ammo here in my country,Egypt.
So i hope some one give us the bullet of mercy in this search.
Regards,

Hossam

·
Registered
849 Posts
All the ones you mentioned have their respective strengths and weaknesses; however, they will all serve your needs. I would say buy the one you can handle confidently and proficiently as your first criteria.

·
Registered
43 Posts