HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Today I shot my new VP9 for the first time and had numerous issues with empty cases not fully ejecting and a couple failure to loads. The gun had previously been disassembled, shipping oil cleaned off, thin coat of gun oil applied, reassembled and function checked. I fired about 90 shots and around 6 or 7 failures occurred. I'm far from being an expert but have never had this many failures with a half-dozen other pistols I've bought. Sure, one or two here or there but this felt excessive.

It did seem to improve as I continued to shoot more, but thought I'd ask about any known issues as I'm new to this model and haven't read much about it. Ammo was recent new Blazer Brass 115gr which is flawless in a different pistol. Gun was disassembled afterwards and guide rod confirmed to be properly seated. Everything looked good.

Is this an acceptable failure rate for a new pistol? I'm not convinced it is the pistol although the ammo has worked fine in a different pistol.

·
Registered
106 Posts
New vp9 are coming with the vp40 springs so you may have to use warmer ammo to break it in.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Is heavier ammo, like 124gr, considered hotter? I don't want to burn up boxes of expensive +p ammo...

·
Registered
402 Posts