HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yes, I acquired an unfired USP .45 Expert, Variant 1 from a colleague at work. I am not a newbie to handguns, but I am a newbie to HK handguns, esp. the USP series. I am used to SIG handguns and S&W revolvers. My agency issued me a SIG 228. My personal handguns range from a SIG 245 to an XD-45 Tactical and a growing assortment of S&W .45 ACP revolvers. Why did I get the USP Expert? It's a .45 ACP and I'm wedded to that caliber from a very long career in USG service. My agency uses HK long guns and I've come to respect the quality of HK guns. We also had an HK rep bring a slew of handguns to one of our range days to play with and I got to shoot a couple of them. But I only paid less than half price for the gun and four 12-round mags than what just the gun would have cost full retail. I just could not pass up the opportunity.

The trigger action on the Expert is quite a bit different than the SIGs. I intend to send it to a 'smith for trigger action work, probably GrayGuns. But first I need to take it to a range and get acquainted with it. There is the polygonal barrel, which I still don't understand. I know what conventional rifling is, but polygonal is something I've never used. I also noticed the O-ring on the barrel. Should I find a spare as well as a recoil spring? I discovered the "proprietary" lock-out feature in the mag well after i was tipped off from another forum and read the last page of the manual about it. The gun didn't come with a key, but it is not locked. I am tempted to put Lok-Tite in the mechanism to ensure it doesn't become locked. I saw nothing in the manual that would leave me to believe I should adopt special cleaning or maintenance procedures. What do you say?

·
Registered
26 Posts