HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I'm basically completely new to guns. I know a little bit about guns but not much. Where should I start? I don't know what to do. I will take any advice.

·
Banned
353 Posts
Hey Zooy,
FIRST THING ALWAYS... TREAT EVERY GUN AS IF IT WERE LOADED, ALWAYS KEEP YOUR TRIGGER FINGER OFF OF THE TRIGGER AND ON THE TRIGGER GUARD UNTIL YOU ARE READY TO FIRE IT. ONCE THE BULLIT LEAVES THE BARREL YOU CAN'T STOP IT OR TRY TO CALL IT BACK. IT'S GONE AND MIGHT KILL SOMEONE! ALWAYS MAKE SURE OF WHAT IS BEHIND YOUR TARGET TOO! NEVER POINT A FIREARM AT ANYONE UNLESS YOUR READY TO KILL THEM AND TAKE EVERYTHING THEY HAVE AND WILL EVER HAVE FOR THE REST OF THEIR LIFE! NEVER LEAVE A GUN WHERE A CHILD CAN REACH IT, EVER!!!!

That said...
If your a small handed operator, get a compact pistol. If your hands are larger, get a larger frame pistol like a USP (universel self-loading pistol). Make sure you can operate the safety lever (right or left side) on any pistol you buy WITHOUT HAVING TO MOVE YOUR HAND FROM THE PISTOL GRIP! Or with as little movement as possable? You don't want to be fumbiling around with the pistol, when it comes time to release the safety or the slide release. Espically in a combat or self-defense situation. You can purchase a USP .40 compact and buy a .357 sig barrel for it off of HKParts.net. It is easy to swap out the barrels and you will have 2 pistols for the price of 1. The .40 compact magazine handle's both rounds so you wont need to buy new mags or even a different holster. A .357 sig reaches the muzzle velocity and stopping power of a .357 magnum! The .40 caliber is equivlent to a light 10mm in velocity and stopping power.