HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm pretty new to H&K, having just bought my first (USPc .40) about a month ago.

One thing I keep hearing is how H&K "over-engineers" their weapons.

Does anyone have some specific examples of this? In other words, point me to a part on my USPc that, if just "regular engineered" would be different. Or, point me to a part on some other handgun that H&K adapted to their product but improved the specs.

·
Registered
76 Posts
That's a tough question... by that question it sounds like you may never need the "over-engineering".

It doesn't always mean more metal here or there, or some exotic metal. Engineering can also apply to thought and design... the rearranging of maybe the same stuff that's on other firearms to come up with something that works when you need it.

How well the firearm can be handled with a gloved hand. Parts interchangeability. How well the tolerances deal with dirt. How far can you go between cleaning. The forethought of what a soldier may need in a certain situation... while still at the drawing board.

I'm not an expert and I don't build guns... I / we just count on them to work when we need them.

If you're firing a 50 ct box of ammo at the local range at still targets once or twice per year you may never appreciate the thought that went into the design of any particular weapon. If you're on a PD or in the Military or Protecting yours or someone else's property you want a tool that's going to work for you under duress... or as an instructor told me "when you think your next breath is going to be your last".

·
Registered
802 Posts
Over engineering is when you waste way too much time and thought into designing something. That's what it means in the engineering world.

·
Registered
180 Posts