HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts
N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am very new to the site so please be gentle. I am also very new to shooting as a hobbie.

I have a slight problem, I just picked up my P30 yesterday its the first gun I ever bought. Anyway I noticed a very very small problem with the finish on the right side of the slide up by the front serartions.

Ok this is where the problem is. Dont all yell at me a once but like a MORON I thought I could fix this with a bit of blueing that you get from the store.

Well I wound up taking off more of the finish, it looks holser worn in one small area.

Ok I almost cried I will man up to that, but I need to aask you people for any ideas on what I can do? The wear mark is small but it looks like the blueing has worn a bit. Is there anyting I can get over the counter to fix this?

I was thinking that maybe I would have Robar redo the slide in NP3 but I wanted to ask all you here. Thanks for any info you can help with.

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
The finish that HK uses seeps into the pores of the metal. You didn't remove the finish, you just changed the appearance of the finish.

·
Registered
622 Posts
Yes, U can get the stock type finish redone - but if U are gonna spend that much money - get the slide hard chromed. If U carry this in a holster - U will just develop wear all over again.

The toughest holster-wear finish is hard chrome. I have a P99c I hard chromed (the slide) 2 years ago. With daily carry - no wear at all.

N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for all the help. So do I understand that if I rubbed off the blueing the pistol still has finish on it so its more cosmitic the anyting else?

Also I was look at Tripps do to do the Hard Chrome is that a good company?

Thanks

·
Registered
206 Posts