HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hy.
Just managed to break the under barrel lug of my P30L at exactly 30.640 rounds fired over a period of 2.5 years. Just the day I was supposed to replace the recoil assembly when I got home.
The last 10k or so of ammunition was only SB 115 grain.

Ammunition shot during the life of the barrel was entirely commercial(no reloads) composed of a mixture of SB 115 grain(about 75%), Geco 125 grain(about 10%), Fiocchi 115 grain and some 125 grain(about 10%. the other 5% of rounds fired where a mixture of MaxTech, MagTech and some other random brands.

The weapon was cleaned every 2500-3000 rounds.
Before you trash me for neglecting my gun, consider this: I shoot a lot of handgun ammunition(at least 1000-1500 rounds a month), as I am an engineer by trade I have a decent understanding of mechanics and I came to the conclusion that a dirty and lubed gun(we are talking of modern guns with surface hardening on sliding parts), while sacrificing a bit of reliability will have an easier life with full power ammunition, as more of the recoil energy is dissipated by friction and smashing trough grime and only a lesser part will have to be tamed by the recoil assembly and or slide smashing into the backstop of the frame. So I keep my guns(especially range guns that I work hard) well lubed but not necessarily sparkling clean.

Lubrication was applied at cleaning and at half time between cleanings if necessarily(at cca. 1500 round if weaker ejection or malfunctions appear).

Left side of barrel with broken   bit.jpg

Underside of barrel with broken   bit.jpg

Now, I post here not to trash the brand(a bit of a fanboy myself) but to ask if any one of you can share thought on possible causes, as this never happened to me even on less "over engineered" guns.