HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks. I'm new to the HKPro forum and as you'll see from below, I have an ulterior motive. I'm a S&W collector and range shooter, and active on that forum, but I'm no dummy (I think.) I carry H&K.

I love my USP 40C. It's been my principle carry tool for many years, but I'm getting older. I started looking for something smaller and lighter, and I even resigned to going into the 9 mm club. With that in mind I treated myself to a new P30SK (V3). I figured it was the closest I could get to my USP without compromising on those important little things like reliability. Seemed like the same action. I carry with a round chambered, but no safety, so that V3 DA/SA trigger suites me just fine. I've been used to it with my USP.

Here's what I've found. The p30SK is only about 4 oz lighter. Oh well. Can't do much about that, but at least 10 x 9mm will be less weight that 10 x 40 cal.

But my 4 lb 8 oz USP trigger feels so much better than my 6 lb 4 oz P30SK trigger. (I'm referring to the SA pull here.) WTF? Is this normal? Anyone have any trigger job suggestions? My regular gunsmith doesn't have much (if any) H&K experience there.

One other issue. I've got 350 rounds through it so far, and I haven't seen any decrease in stovepipe problems. About 2 - 3 per box using mostly Blazer Brass 114 grain jacketed round tip. I asked the H&K service desk about this (via email) and they gave me the answer that I would be better off to use hotter rounds with 124 grain loads. They say that the recoil spring is stiff to lessen recoil, and they don't offer a weaker guide rod/spring set. Wow! I was a bit surprised there.