HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey, I'm a newbie to the HK world, so please go easy on me here for a while. I have always wanted an HK style rifle and now I think it is the right time. I'm currently looking at the PTR 91 brand, in particular the PDW pistol versions in 308 and 762x39. My plan is to buy the pistol and send off the for the tax stamp (I already have an AR15 sbr). I have a few questions. First off, will I be better off going with the 308 or the 762x39 chambering for an SBR? I won't be shooting the gun a ton, probably 200 to 300 rounds a year. Second question, if I go with the 308 caliber, will I have problems shooting Tula ammo? It's certainly the cheapest ammo to use for range blasting, which is what I mostly plan on doing with the gun. I don't want to spend a ton of money (for me) on the gun only to find out that it will only shoot the more expensive ammo offerings. I like that the 308 mags are like $3/each, but I also like the fact that the PTR32 uses AK mags which are higher capacity as well as possibly being able to use a drum mag.

My third question is a little different. I have my FFL so I can buy the 308 PDW at dealer cost, but I would have to pay retail for the 762x39 model because it is exclusive only to Atlantic Firearms and I called them and they will not give another dealer a discounted price. So I hate paying retail, especially when I can get the 308 version at cost. I guess what I'm trying to say is that I would be alright with paying retail for the PTR32 if it would make a better choice for an SBR and especially since the ammo is more than half of the cost of the cheap 308 ammo.

But I'm pretty sure I'm set on buying a PTR of one kind or another to do an SBR with. I'm bored with ARs so I'm looking for something new to play with. Any help you all can give me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,304 Posts