HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'll start my first post by introducing myself. I am a retired 101st AB vet. of 22 yrs., 5 yrs. Private security. To be perfectly honest I have done nothing for the past 3 yrs. but set on my bottom and build hot rods and guns. Somehow sex seems to be low on the priority list now days, but manage to have a good time with my hot rods, guns and kids. My short intro.

The Problem and questions I have from the beginning, I purchased a PTR K3P PDW from Atlantic fire arms that I received this morning, #AW20412 , The gun has a perfect fish and bolt gap [email protected] .016 out of the box. I am not new to the roller lock delayed blowback weaponry by no means, but this one is eating my lunch. After checking the bolt gap, I disassembled the weapon and cleaned the bore and chamber with solvent and soft patches. After reading several other posts, I decided to break in my weapon using a few different brands of ammo. I loaded 10 ,20rnd mags, 2 w/ZQI, 2 w/magtech, 2 w/fed lake city 149 gr., 2 w/Hornaday .308 150 gr., and 2 w/Hirtenberger 146 gr.
I lightly oiled my carrier assy. and started my break in process. to make a long story short after 200 rnds, cleaning bore and chamber after every 5 from start, the every ten to every mag. the weapon only cycled 4 rnds without an FTE. after the first 2 mags The bolt gap was a tight .015, after 100 rnds the bolt gap was at .014 where it is at know after all 200 rnds. The different ammo didn't seem to make a difference, and I have repeatedly cleaned the weapon ,and BCG. came from the factory with a#7 locking piece and the chamber flutes look to be deep and clean.
I have repeatedly tried to call PTR , only to get a recording on all lines. Just asking for advice, maybe something I am overlooking. I have found that after being aggravated for several hrs straight, I sometimes overlook obvious problems. Any advice welcome.
Travis

·
Registered