HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I'm still a noob, can someone tell me how to choose the right defense ammo for my p2k 9mm?

When I go to cheaper than dirt and search "speer gold dot 9mm hollow point 124 grain", there are 15 boxes to choose from. If I start comparing the stats, they all seem the same; except for different prices. How do I know which to buy? Is there a difference or am I being a silly blonde again?

Also, do I need to get +P, or is that just a marketing ploy? I've read that +P causes excessive wear on the barrel, is that true? Since my p2k is still pretty new (only 500 rounds through it) should I avoid +P till it's broken in? Or just avoid it all together?

No ammo wars please, just help a girl out. I chose to start with a 9mm, until I gain proper technique and strength for a HK45c.

·
Registered
585 Posts
Not quite sure why they're showing different prices for the same rounds. Some of it may just be older or newer, considering the packaging they show. It's still the same stuff.

The +P tends to be slightly more expensive, and one of the results on there is Speer's "Short Barrel" version. Same load as the standard, but they have a different hollow point design to ensure proper expansion at the lower velocities common to shorter barrels. Not something I'd be concerned about in your case.

The top two hits (100 count) are just for the actual bullets, not loaded ammo.

Also, if I may suggest, DO NOT buy the 20 round boxes from cheaper than dirt, where you're paying over a buck per round with shipping. I can direct you to some places where you can get the 50 round "LE Only" boxes for around 50-60 cents per round.

+P in general will cause more wear, but unless you're shooting large amounts of it, it's not anything you'll need to worry about. Your HK is rated for it.