HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm still pretty new to firearms so bare with me if I'm asking stupid questions. I was wondering if the MP5 and Sig 556 are legal in Illinois to own. Specifically in Lake County. Would I just check the Illinois State Police website, or do I have to find out from the county itself? Also are there more forms or a different type of FOID card you need to own these types of weapons?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Jackman covered the basics (MP5: No, HK94/Sig 556: Yes) but in Illinois firearms ordinances are passed by the local municipality. The list on the ISP site is here: http://www.isp.state.il.us/foid/ordinances.cfm Some of them may disallow the HK94 and/or the Sig 556 either specifically or due to their attributes. Check for your town on the ISP website (I just moved out of Lake County and don't recall any towns up there being too crazy).

As for forms, in IL you need your FOID but that's it if the gun is legal in your town. If you lived outside of IL and in a place where an MP5 was legal, you would need an extra tax stamp as a real MP5 is full-auto and a short-barreled rifle and requires registration with the ATF.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks both for the inputs. I checked the ISP website and the closest area on their ordinance page is Grayslake. Didn't see anything in it regarding what weapons are unlawful to own.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Another question on SBR's. I know SBR's are illegal in IL. I read the "CRIMINAL OFFENSES (720 ILCS 5/) Criminal Code of 1961" and it states that the barrel length must be longer than 16". Does that include rifles with a flash hider. So if the barrel length was 14.5" and you add a flash hider to bring it to 16" is that then legal or is it still illegal because the actual barrel is 14.5"?

·
Premium Member
8,629 Posts