HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

I'd appreciate your comments and advice, please:

I bought two surplus 5-round steel magazines for my PTR-91. Images at the bottom of this post.
They arrived coated in what I assume (yes, I'm a rookie) is Cosmoline.
I want to disassemble the magazines so I can thoroughly clean and refinish them.

How do I correctly disassemble and reassemble these, please? It's not obvious to me how to dislodge the floorplate or in which direction it's supposed to move, and I don't want to leave a bend in anything.

After disassembly, I plan to boil the grease off the parts and scrub off whatever didn't boil away.

After degreasing--what? Bead blast? Some sort of bluing or coating? Spray a coat of primer? (My intended use for these is hunting.)

Springs for 5-round magazines: My guess is that if I'm able to find these at all, they'll be for the PSG1 and priced accordingly. Might it work to buy 20-round magazines and cannibalize springs from those?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Here they are:

·
Registered
14 Posts
I have never seen one of those magazines. Now I must buy one and disassemble it. The floorplate looks nothing like my 20 rnd magazine.

I would suggest you contact HKParts | Heckler & Koch Genuine Parts - HKPARTS.NET and see what they have to say.

Where did you happen to pick those up at?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi S.O.G.:

If you do, please document and share?

Thanks for the suggestion.

I bought these via Numrich Gun Parts Corporation. The link below seems for a similar item, though I don't yet know whether my magazines are "green parkerized" under the grease, or for that matter whether they are in fact in "excellent condition":

Magazine, 5 Round

·
Registered
8 Posts