HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen,
Let me introduce myself as primarily a pistol shooter, CCW holder and an IDPA competitor. I am brand new to the world of HK and to this forum.
I have only had my USP 9c for a little over two week and now have 520 rounds through it, and may I say I am really enjoying it.
Here is a short range report of my first impressions of this gun.

The Gun
Got it home and cleaned it up. The outside of the slide has a beautiful blued finish with no machine or tool marks or burs anywhere. I was a little surprised, though, that the inside of the slide, while still blued nicely had tool marks above where the barrel sits. The rest of the inside slide and the barrel were near perfect.
The hammer also looked a little rough, not bad, but not as nice as the rest of the gun and not as nice as one might expect from HK.

I did note that there is a slight cut out directly across from the ejector claw to help seat the cartridge securely on the breach face, as well as four lobes (2 on either side of the ejector port) that help guide and lock the locking block very tightly. Hmm German engineering.

The polymer frame has a very substantial feel to it which was great compared to the cheap feeling polymer on some other guns.

Before being fired for the first time there was a gritty feel when the slide was racked, but that smoothed way out after 250 rounds.

The sight are good and barrel to slide lock up is just fabulous with no rattle whatever when you shake it.

Magazines were nice too, and eject very positively when the mag released is depressed. I cant reach the mag release with my thumb, so trigger finger it is.

To me the gun feels a little nose heavy. Even with a full mag it is not quite as balanced as the Glock.