HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like the title says, I'm relatively new to HK. I have a passing familiarity with HK products (I can identify most of them on sight, but that's about the extent of my knowledge), but for the most part I'm a Mosin collector, and this is only my second major foray out of Russian weapons (first foray being a semi auto Mk.1 Bren gun which I'm still tinkering with).

Anyway, I'm kind of tossing around the idea of getting a Century C93 and having Ghilliebear work his magic on it to start me off (eventually I plan to land either a V51 SBR or some kind of proper HK21E clone if I can ever find one that doesn't cost a second mortgage to acquire...), but before I go doing that I'd like to get an expert opinion on that course of action.

·
Registered
2,845 Posts
Talk to Ghilliebear on what it costs to get a custom built rifle, will be surprised on the reasonable cost and and delivery time. If you are thinking SBRs can think of at least two other possible options of interest that combines the projects. I always found that one nicer rifle is better than the same money in two or three OK rifles.

Option 1: A drum cut 32 or 52 build by Ghilliebear, the 7.62x39 is splits the difference between the 223 and 308 and is probably a better choice than 308 in sub foot long barrel (unless you really are after the muzzle blast ;-) and one can end up with a SBR using low cost metal drums and reasonable cost ammo (at least now days compared to 308).

Option 2: Instead of low cost HK21e (which is going to be hard to find now days) go with with either a 11 or 13 clone and use beta mags or the 308 drum. If you got a K version then would fill in for the SBR. Change to the full length barrel and one has a rifle that for the first 50 to 100 rounds will keep up with the HK21e and mag changes will be faster than the belt change from most of us anyway, at least until you run out of loaded mags ;-).