HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I am new to this sport and am looking for info on ammo. I recently purchased the HK P30 and have had it to the range twice. I used FIOCCHI 9mil ammo for my first 300 rounds. I am looking to purchase additional ammo and am bewildered with the nomenclature and options. I am looking for recommendations for ammo and definitions to abbreviations such as fmj, HP, +P, +P+, and such. I am pretty sure hp means hollow point...is hollow point legal (Michigan)? Any and all information is appreciated..also links to other threads, sites, etc would be nice. There also appears to be different gram sizes within a category of bullets? Is there better ammo for range shooting Vs protection ammo that might also be less costly...I know, less costly most likely equates to less reliable!

A little help please???

·
Super Moderator
4,379 Posts
Okay, I am new to this sport and am looking for info on ammo. I recently purchased the HK P30 and have had it to the range twice. I used FIOCCHI 9mil ammo for my first 300 rounds. I am looking to purchase additional ammo and am bewildered with the nomenclature and options. I am looking for recommendations for ammo and definitions to abbreviations such as fmj, HP, +P, +P+, and such. I am pretty sure hp means hollow point...is hollow point legal (Michigan)? Any and all information is appreciated..also links to other threads, sites, etc would be nice. There also appears to be different gram sizes within a category of bullets? Is there better ammo for range shooting Vs protection ammo that might also be less costly...I know, less costly most likely equates to less reliable!

A little help please???