HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I've been a long time lurker on this board but never posted.

:)

I've got a USPf 45acp and I love it. I recently started shooting it again after a long period (over a year) when I was using a Springfield 1911 and XD45 on the range exclusively.

Man, I forgot how much I love this gun!
It is just has accurate has my 1911 (or any other handgun I've fired) and has much less recoil and a better feel than my XD45 (4" version).

The only thing I'm not crazy about on my USP is the trigger. The SA pull feels heavier and worse than the DAO pull of my XD45. :( And I'm not a fan of the decocker. In a stressed enviornment or situation, a person will almost certainly decock the weapon while taking the safety off. I've practiced lots to avoid this potential problem but I'm still sure that under pressure, I'll accidentally decock it and end up with a DA pull for the first shot.

I'm a fairly decent shot and can hit center mass of a target @ 25 yards with no problem in either SA or DA mode. It isn't an issue of whether I'll miss with the first shot but since I carry C&L, I obviously prefer the first shot to be SA.

I plan on sending my USP to Travis @ HK to have a Match Trigger installed and to change to the Variant 9 configuration.

I'd like to hear your opinions on the V9 versus V1 for a carry, HD, or Range piece.

Thanks.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I really like the LEM trigger for carry.

Since it's a little heavier I feel less likely to accidently shoot, but it's not so heavy as to affect my aim, or speed. (Not significantly anyway)

I agree completely with the keep it simple plan. For me, I don't want to have to remember to take it off Safe in a stress situation. I want to draw, aim, and squeeze.

The LEM configuratioin gets rid of the decocker.

Not exactly what you're asking, but additional info to think about.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3