HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm a Naval officer with a few years in. I have a SIG P226R conventional SA/DA that I bought directly from SIGArms. I love that thing to death (literally), now I want to get something smaller and more compact. I want an H&K this time around so I want to diversify my choices.

I'm really looking into the H&K USP Compact in 9mm. I've been doing a lot of research on the LEM trigger and all of that jazz. My problem is that I'm so used to firing SIG firearms (nice trigger pull in SA, decocker, etc etc) that I don't know if I feel comfortable moving into the LEM or wanting to start the transition to learn how to get used to the LEM. KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid) right?

What is your opinion gentlemen? Should I go the extra mile to get an LEM and learn how to be proficient with it, or should I just stick with the conventional SA/DA layout? That's another thing that kinda iffs me about the USP Compact, the hammer is bobbed so it'll be hard to cock it back at will like I can with my 226R. Is there a way I can replace it with a spurred hammer like in the P2000 or full size USP?

Thank you all.

·
Registered
2,393 Posts
I would go with a P2000 V3 DA/SA. And it can be had in any caliber that the P226 is. 9mm, .40 and .357 sig. As well as being able to use the same flashlight due to the standard rail.

Good luck!

·
Registered
373 Posts
+1 on that.

I faced the same question when I decided to purchase a P2000 in .40SW (my first HK) after owning Sigs in DA/SA configuration for many years. For me it was a quick decision....in a worst case scenario, it's not a bad idea to stick with what you know - that doesn't mean that with practice you can't learn to be proficient with both the LEM and the SA/DA but to keep the learning curve short, I went with the DA/SA P2000 and I am very glad I did. I like it a lot. It's what I know and what I am most comfortable with. But that's just me.

·