HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

Super noob here. Bought my first handgun (a VP9) primarily b/c i read through the reviews, felt good, loved the fact you can swap out grip panels, and i could go on and on. That said, i just picked up the gun for the first time and am encountering something which I don't know whether is a problem or not with the gun itself. Gun is unloaded, magazine is seated. I rack the slide, and every time, it locks in the back position. I don't even have to push up on the slide lock lever. Nor is my hand accidentally pressing on the slide lock lever. I literally pull back and it locks. Every time. I've watched tons of videos on shooting and on most guns, people are racking the slide back over and over again with no problem. Is this proper to have it lock every single time? Seems not to be as I don't think in a shooting situation, you'd not want it to lock, and have to manually depress the slide lock every time just to chamber a new bullet.

When i take out the magazine however, it racks properly. I noticed that when i insert the magazine, the slide release lever raises a bit - which is causing the locking when i rack it (mag in). Is this proper?

And if not proper and is an issue with the gun, is this something a gunsmith would have to handle? Should i send it back?

Appreciate any help.

Thanks guys and gals!

·
Registered
6,701 Posts
It functions correctly ! That is the follower moving up and locking the slide open after the last round . You're good. Congratulations on the new pistol !

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3