HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I am a rookie here and have a few questions that maybe some of you can offer some advice on. I am 23 years old, and I have decided to get a concealed carry license as well as my first handgun. I have always been attracted to H&K due to it's excellent visual design and, from what I understand, very high quality.

I've had my eyes on the USP compact, and I am trying to decide between .40 and .45 caliber. I am somewhat of a beginner when it comes to firearms, so I don't know much about the practical differences between these 2 calibers.

I went to the gun show here in Houston this morning, and I was able to get my hands on the USPc and it did indeed feel great. I also was able to check out an HK45 which felt even better; I was very impressed with it.

This brings me to another question: if I decide to go with a .45, should I wait until the HK45c becomes available??

Any advice/experience would be greatly appreciated. I really like H&K, and I am trying to learn as much as possible so I can make the right choice. Thanks!

Westibone

·
Vendor
8,216 Posts
Without getting too technical, the .45 round is a heavier, slower moving round but is has tremendous stopping power. I have found it to be good up to maybe 20-25 yards (not that you'll ever really need that range with a handgun).

The .40 is a slightly lighter, faster and more accurate round. Additionally you can get more rounds in your mag. I can hit the "kill" zone with my USP 40 or Sig 226 .40 at up to 50 yards (again not that you'd ever shoot that far).

For all practical defense, either round will be good, just your matter of preference on recoil, weight and mag capacity.

My advice would be to shoot the gun you're interested in side-by-side at the range in both calibers and see what YOU personally are more comfortable with.