HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,

I just picked an SP5K and the lower receiver (polymer pistol grip section) is a bit loose. About as loose as an AR that wobbles a wee bit. Also if I try to move the pistol grip/lower receiver forward and backward, it moves a bit.

Kind of annoying and not what I would expect on something priced this high.

That said I have zero experience with new MP5's, so forgive my ignorance in advance.

In comparison, I have a cz scorpion that was $700 dollars and also fits together with pins but is absolutely rock solid. Can anyone share their experience or info with the sp5k? Is this expected?

Thanks much,

-Freq

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
Seeing how the real guns have a front pin, & that's how they were designed from the get go, to be importable the front pin had to go. So the compromise is the shelf, & that causes slight movement. I bet the "contract" guns with the front pin do not have this movement. GARY

·
Premium Member
3,869 Posts
Totally normal

Shoot the two side by side, you'll see why the MP5 (SP5K) has been the bench mark for subguns for over 50 years

·
Unrepentant HKHolic
Ones that go Bang
4,933 Posts
Normal.........take em both to the Range and see which one more guys fawn over bet it wont be the CZ............put a sear pack in the SP5K and see how they drool

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
I dunno, people drool pretty well over the scorpion, and it's a laser. Sharp recoil impulse though, hard to shoot fast. :)

I hear what you are saying though, it's sexy for sure. That said the lower movement really bugs me, when I push out on the sling I can feel the grip move.

I haven't taken it apart, is there any way it could be tightened up or perhaps mine is a bit out of spec?

-Freq

·
Registered
3,271 Posts