HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here. Tom in Conshohocken PA.

I am happily and sadly the new owner of a c93. I will not dwell on that here.

Anyway, i think that the roller delayed blowback system is pretty awesome, and I think i'm hooked, but it seems like not many people on the interwebs understand the finer intracate workings of the system during the milliseconds before and after a bullet is fired. So, I decided to sign up on Hkpro and as the HK head mofos in charge.

I have a few questions but let's start with the first:

Question #1:

When a cartidge is in battery, and the bolt is fully forward, right before the trigger is pulled, Is the bolt face up against the barrel? Or, is there a gap? I assume that there should be a gap so the bolt face is not always slapping the barrel, causing wear. But then again, if it isn't, then there isn't a tight seal for most of the pressure to go in the direction of firing. What's the answer?

(can't upload pictures yet.)

·
Registered
3,872 Posts
The gap we speak of is between the bolt head and bolt carrier. The head I believe is pretty damn close to flush. The bolt gap keeps the head from beating too hard on the trunion.

·
Registered
3,632 Posts
C93 + maybe new barrel and trunnion + trip to Ghilliebear = happiness

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks bros!

I understand how to check 'bolt gap'. I was wondering what keeps the bolt face from being damaged if its constantly hitting the barrel face every time a round is seated. I don't think the bolt ever touches the trunion, it hits the barrel face.

I think it's like this: On the return of the bolt assembly under pressure from the recoil spring, (from back (stock) to front (barrel)) the bolt is fully extended on the locking piece w/ rollers in, and the bolt hits the barrel face, and the locking piece then moves forward, and the rollers are pushed out, locking the bolt in place. Correct?

·
Registered