HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,621 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I've said in previous posts, I am an NFA noob. If you buy the MP5 on HKparts (or where ever) that is a factory suppressed & SBR, and then add the NFA F/A sear does it make it a Machine Gun at that point or are you still stuck with the SBR classification?

·
Registered
3,872 Posts
MG while searpack installed. reverts to SBR when you remove searpack.
+1

If you're gonna have a sear, just buy pistols unless you really want to keep a buttstock installed while not in use.

·
Premium Member
1,725 Posts
+1

If you're gonna have a sear, just buy pistols unless you really want to keep a buttstock installed while not in use.
I have some ranges around me that are no-MG's allowed. They won't even let you on the line if it COULD be used in FA... So I've had to SBR a few of the favorites so I can shoot them at close by ranges.

·
Registered
3,467 Posts
I have some ranges around me that are no-MG's allowed. They won't even let you on the line if it COULD be used in FA... So I've had to SBR a few of the favorites so I can shoot them at close by ranges.
That is horrible. What I find even more bizarre is a facility for shooting "banning" a whole class of gun. I could understand if the range could not handle the caliber (.50 BMG comes to mind), but if you are allowed to shoot the same gun without the sear, what is the difference? If you can't control the gun and you damage equipment, then you are responsible. I've seen other shooters that didn't have good control because they trying to shoot their semi auto as fast as they could. Sorry you have such a hassle to use your sear, to say nothing of the extra expense of tax stamps and leaving your sear at home.

Scott

·
Premium Member
1,725 Posts
That is horrible. What I find even more bizarre is a facility for shooting "banning" a whole class of gun.