HKPRO Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very new to HK and HK clone firearms, but the notion of a HK-51 or a HK-51B interests me. Starting with either a Vector V51-P or a PTR-91 PDW seems to be the best way to begin this project.

While I've done a lot of searching both here and elsewhere, there seem to be conflicting reports and no consensus.

Any thoughts about these two pistols? Reliability/durability? I'm not asking about combat use, more for not having the multitude of embarrassing stoppages that seem to occur at every NFA shoot. Is one known to be of better quality than the other?

Also, the PTR seems to be less expensive. That said, I'm not fond of its metal handguard; I really prefer the wider polymer handguard found on the Vector. Does anybody know if this is easy to swap out on the PTR, or is there something going on with that design that precludes the use of a wider handguard? If it is possible, does anybody know what handguard Vector used on its V51-P? That metal handguard not only looks uncomfortable, but it also looks like it'd act like a big metal heat sink.

Finally, any differences with SBRing either gun? Converting to B (beltfed) specs? I understand that the beltgun conversion is very involved and requires a good 'smith. I also understand that markings and serial numbers must be handled properly. Any advice or recommendations there? (One person advised me that I'd first have to do the beltfed work and then the SBR papering to avoid problems.) One person said that I'd have to adjust the Vector's guide/recoil (?) rod while PTR's is fine for a SBR as it is. Any truth to this?

Thanks,

Mike

·
Vendor
2,037 Posts
You got fairly large balls if you are going down the full auto beltfed 51 route from scratch more or less. I wouldn't rec' that as an entry project into the HK platform.