HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys,

I am a newbie, and need some input... Am I correct in saying that if you live in california, that I can not buy or own a USP .40/.45 tactical in this state ?? And if so, is the USP EXPERT .40/.45 the next best alternative ?? This will be my first hand gun, and I want to get the "right" gun the first time around. It will be used for home defense and target. Where would be the best place to find one of these guns for sale ?? How much should I expect to pay ?? What would be a good deal on this gun ?? Last question is, and I know this is a HK forum, but How does this gun compare to a XD .40/.45..

Is this a good event to look for a pistol ??

Mar 24-25 Costa Mesa, Orange County Fairgrounds Crossroads of the West

Thanks for any help

·
Registered
164 Posts
Hey Newbie! Welcome aboard. Last time I checked the USP Tactical is illegal in CA, because of the threaded barrel.

Here's the Dept. Of Justice Approved Handgun list that you should look into:
http://certguns.doj.ca.gov/

As a new shooter, I'd first try one out before you buy it. Do a lot of searching here and you should find a comparison. If not, check out the XD website. As for buying one at an affordable price, call and search around for a price check. Internet gun sales are cheaper so you don't have to pay any taxes if it's outside of CA, BUT you need to find an FFL dealer and pay the additonal DROS/transfer fees.

Good luck.

·
Registered
3 Posts