HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up an HK USP 40 v.7 full size and am having some issues with accuracy. It's stamped "AD" which I believe is a 2003 and has Meprolite Tru Dots on it. I picked the gun up 3 weeks ago and put 350 rounds through it over the course of the first week end and 150 the next and I just couldn't find consistency at all with it. The shots were scattered about 8 inches all over the target like buckshot at about 20 yards. I called up H&K and they assured me that there is nothing wrong with the pistol as long as it is not malfunctioning but I could send it in if I want. He asked if I am new to firearms which I am not. I've carried my P226 or Kimber Team Match II daily for the last 4 years and absolutely LOVE both and both do excellent with nice groups(some touching with the T.M. II) out to 25 yards. He went on to tell me that I'm, "just not used to the mile long DAO trigger pull of my USP" and that I'll just have to get used to. He said it is very common for people not used to the DAO pull of the USP variant 7's to have very sporadic groupings until they get used to it. Which I do admit, compared to my Sig and Kimber, the trigger on this thing made me feel as though I had never shot a gun before.

So my question is, is there a lot of truth to what he says about getting used to the DAO v.7's as far as accuracy goes? And if so, what am I doing wrong or different and how could it possibly be corrected? OR, could it possibly be a case of "the arrow and not the indian?" Any specific things I should look/check for on the gun? Any information or insight would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
18,641 Posts