HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I'm new to HK's but not handguns. I'm long on Rugers with sprinkles of Glock, S&W, and a few others. Two days ago I purchased a used VP40 from a reputable (i think) brick and mortar store in Houston, Collectors Firearms. They rated it as excellent condition and it looked good as new to me and to a friend I had along that trades guns as a hobby. Problem is that 3 times out of about 70 rounds, the slide did not fully return. It stopped about 1/4 inch from a full return. The ammo was WWB and Monarch. The unspent shells that I had to manually eject were roughed up a little at the base. I was using two different magazines. I wasn't keeping records, but I know the last two failures were with Monarch and the same magazine. They both occurred on the third to last bullet in the clip. I can't be sure of which magazine or ammo or clip position for the first failure. A visual inspection of the clips and firearm didn't reveal anything to my untrained eye. My next chance to test it is a week or two out and I will determine then if there is a relationship to ammo or clip and/or clip position. Maybe someone out there knows what this is???? I'd like to hear your thoughts.

Thanks

·
Registered
627 Posts
Wow thats a real bummer. Other than giving the barrel a good cleaning and see if it still happens I don't know what to tell you. Maybe there was some goo on it or something . Unless you cleaned it before you shot it.

·
Registered
1,238 Posts
1. it's a magazine not a clip. whew, got that out of the way.
2. did you clean the weapon since you said it is used?
3. you are using **** ammo, use better.
4. try to isolate if it is a magazine problem or ammo problem as you stated
5. do you use a high grip where your thumb rests on the slide, possibly slowing it down?

·
Registered
2,250 Posts