HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking of starting a new project - making my own hi-cap (~30 rounds) magazine...

I've never tried it before and just started thinking about it a few days ago. I refuse to spend the outrageous cost of a hi-cap Hk magazine (whenever they show up for sale).

I think I saw Big Bore say he's made one himself... I'm curious as to how he (and others) have gone about doing this. I'm thinking of taking two magazines and affixing them together after cutting off the top of one of the magazines. I will have to find a lengthened spring also...

Thoughts? Comments? Laughter? :)

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
With the metal ones, with a Tig welder (or Mig, but the cleanup is much more) you can join 2 of the .45 magazines together, and IIRC create a 17 round magazine if you use the 10-rounders.

Theorectically, you could make a 19 round magazine if you hacked up a 12 round magazine, and possibly even stretch it to 20 rounds with some follower modifications.

You would be looking at mabey cutting up 4 10-round .45 magazines in order to achieve a 30 round magazine.

I would not attempt to modify the 9mm/.40cal magazines, because they are polymer, and you may risk having the joint be weak, and possibly breaking.... Unless you can have someone "plastic weld" (same deal as with the newest generation of G36 conversions) the magazines, i would not trust the plastic mags very much.

From what i remember, the STI double stacked mags work in the USP 9/40 will a little modification, and then you could possibly weld several together.

In any case, it would most likely end up being very difficult to make a ~30 round magazine for the .40 and 9mm USP's, than it would be to get the HK ones, unless you have the equiptment necessary for metal work and modification i wouldn't screw with the STI mag things.

But if you have the ability to work with metal, my bet is the STI mags would be your best bet!

·