HKPRO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last week I finally got my HK trigger group. I am new to class 3, MG's, that sort of thing, and was wondering what changes I need to do to turn my SP-89 into a MP5k-PDW. I know I have to get the paddle mag release, is that something I can do at home or do I have to send it away. Also I have seen the side folding stocks for sale on Gunbroker, Do I have to do any modifications to put this on my SP-89 (It's an original HK, not a clone). I already have the full auto bolt carrier. Thank you

·
Premium Member
1,025 Posts
I just saw a web site where the guy took photos of his conversion to add the paddle.

It is not an easy task and you unless your good with welding, grinding, and coating the metal... I would send it off to be done by someone who has done many and has already learned from his mistakes.. :)

·
Registered
340 Posts
I would send the gun off to have the paddle mag put in. As far as the stock goes it will fit as long as it is has the two pin holes one on top and the other on the bottom. This will allow it to sit inside the receiver rather than surround the outside. Here is a link of a stock that will fit:
http://www.riflestock.com/catalog_p...ductCode=32&ProductSubCodeID=196&NewProduct=0

Just fyi, make sure that you are compliant with all laws so you won't run into any problems.

·
Registered
555 Posts
will one of those Tac Latches work?
The web site says they have them for the SP89. I have the original paddle, if I had to do it again I would not hesitate to go with the TacLatch. It only works for right handers though. For stocks I would look at the B&T. DS Arms has those.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Yes the Taclatch will work.

Most of the folding stocks on Gunbroker are clones of the B&T and are junk. Get a real B&T from DSA Arms or the original HK style stock from Choate. The Choate is cheaper.

The front Kgrip on Gunbroker is OK.

·
Registered
1,712 Posts